All news

Hermannsburg High School Again Wins WESSA Enviro-Quiz at UKZN

2017/08/31 08:36:44 AM

Hermannsburg High School has won the annual WESSA Environmental Quiz for the fourth consecutive year!

 From left: Ms Cynthia Dibben with Hermannsburg High School’s winning team, Christel Bruggemann, Paul Tönsing, Luke Hayward, and Jarmin Claassen.

Hermannsburg High School has won the annual WESSA Environmental Quiz for the fourth consecutive year!

With more young people becoming involved and concerned about the future of the natural world, particularly with regards to the protection and preservation of the environment, the annual Enviro Quiz held on UKZN’s Pietermaritzburg campus is always an enlightening experience.

Twelve enviro quiz teams from Mpumalanga, Gauteng, the Eastern Cape and KwaZulu-Natal competed for the floating trophy during a challenging, informative and fun-filled evening.

The Enviro-Quiz covered a variety of topics including general knowledge on wildlife, indigenous knowledge, conservation legislation, biodiversity, symbols used in conservation, significant eco-current affairs, botany, and zoology, among others.

In second position behind Hermannsburg was the East Griqualand Schools team followed by St Charles College from Pietermaritzburg.

2017 marks the fourth year in a row that Hermannsburg High School has taken the trophy home.

The winning team was presented with book prizes as well as book vouchers sponsored by WESSA and UKZN’s College of Agriculture, Engineering and Science, who organised the event. Host for the evening was Dr Matthew Akerman of UKZN’s School of Chemistry and Physics.

After the quiz, teams visited WESSA’s Umgeni Valley Nature Reserve near Howick to enjoy adventure activities such as rock-climbing, field-work studies, bird-watching and nature study. 

Words by: Nokuthula Mavimbela

Photograph by: Swasti Maney

Nokuthula Mavimbela


Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved.