School of Chemistry & Physics


Chemistry is the study of atoms and molecules and how they react and interact with one another and with the environment. When a material with new properties is needed, when a drug needs to be found or synthesized, or when a new pest is encountered in agriculture, the chemists are asked to provide the solution.


Bachelor of Science

This three-year undergraduate course leads to the degree of Bachelor of Science (BSc). This may be achieved in two ways:

  1. Through a general and flexible BSc with possible combinations of Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, Biology, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Soil Science, Computer Science and Statistics.

  2. Through a specific focused BSc, which has a more directed outcome: Applied Physics
  • Entry requirements:

    NSC degree pass with Maths Level 5, English and Life Orientation Level 4 and either Agricultural Science or Life Science or Physical Science Level 4

  • Application Performance Score (APS) range:

    30 - 48


CASSE is an Alternative Access and Academic Support Programme that caters for prospective students whose academic potential was not realised due to a disadvantaged educational background.

  • Entry requirements:

    NSC degree pass with Maths, English, Life Orientation and Physical Science at Level 4

How to Apply

All first-time South African applicants to UKZN for entry into degree/ diploma study (Grade 12s and undergraduate transfer students from other institutions) must apply via the Central Applications Office (CAO).

Bachelor of Science (Honours)

A one- year specialist programme leading to an Honours degree. Applicants must have a relevant 3-year or equivalent qualification to be considered for Honours. Spaces are very limited and a careful selection process is followed.

Master of Science

A Master of Science programme is offered, whereby students engage in research under the supervision of an academic staff member. A minimum of 60% at Honours level or equivalent must be achieved to be considered for this programme. This degree takes a minimum of one year.

Doctor of Philosophy

A Doctor of Philosophy programme is offered where students engage in novel research supervised by academic members of staff. This is typically three years of study and normally follows on from a Master of Science Degree.

How to Apply

Applications must be submitted to our College office. Visit the College website to see the steps to follow, download the application pack/ forms and access the link to apply online.


Research Areas

We are a research-led institution, producing knowledge for the rapidly-changing and information-rich world.

Research Groups

We have a number of research groups that specialise in areas of research in Physics. 

Student dissertations

UKZN Research Space was developed to increase the visibility, availability and impact of tour students’ research output.


To be added.

Contact us

Pietermaritzburg Campus

Ms Mirelle Haripal

Physical Address

Old Science Building,
Pietermaritzburg Campus (Main Campus),
University of KwaZulu-Natal

King Edward Avenue,
Scottsville, Pietermaritzburg,

Westville campus

Ms Neetu Rama

Ms Samantha Naidoo

Physical Address

H Block,
Westville Campus,
University of KwaZulu-Natal

University Road,
Westville, Durban,