School of Chemistry & Physics



This is a one- year specialist programme leading to an Honours degree. Applicants must have a relevant 3-year or equivalent qualification to be considered for Honours. Spaces are very limited and a careful selection process is followed. The closing date for applications is 30 September.


The honours degree in physics is a one-year study program focused on intermediate-level physics. Postgraduate courses are offered at NQF level 8 to bring you to the threshold of current research, and these can lead to subject specialism in experimental, theoretical and computational research. As an honours physics student at UKZN, you will have access to a dedicated lecture facility and teaching laboratory. 

Pietermartizburg campus

Physics at Pietermaritzburg has an outstanding diversity of specialisations and research programme in six sub-categories:

  • Atmospheric Physics
  • Computational Physics
  • Condensed Matter Physics
  • Materials Physics
  • Molecular Physics
  • Theoretical Physics

Westville campus

Physics at Westville has an outstanding diversity of specialisations:

  • Space Weather
  • Plasma Physics
  • Astronomy and Cosmology
  • Atmospheric Physics
  • Quantum Information Processing and Communication
  • Energy Systems
  • Photonics
  • Nano-technology